SX40 HS newbie help -- how to increase video time limit? (or file size limit) - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum

SX40 HS newbie help -- how to increase video time limit? (or file size limit)

• 6 Replies
Advertisements
I downloaded the time_ext.bas and .lua scripts from the wiki and have found that they don't work at all on my camera, i managed to get other scripts like hdr or video exposure to work with no problems at all.. my firmware is 1.00i
and i get errors like this:
***STARTED***
uBASIC: 1 Unk stmt
***TERMINATED*** for the first .bas script

and

***STARTED***
:1 unexpected symbol
near 'char(239)'
***TERMINATED*** for the .lua script

i copy/pasted the scripts from the wiki as they were onto notepad and saved with their respective file extensions in utf-8 coding (guiding me from the Continuous Video thread) so i don't know what could be wrong

thanks in advance

Offline reyalp

I downloaded the time_ext.bas and .lua scripts from the wiki and have found that they don't work at all on my camera, i managed to get other scripts like hdr or video exposure to work with no problems at all.. my firmware is 1.00i
***STARTED***

and

***STARTED***
near 'char(239)'

i copy/pasted the scripts from the wiki as they were onto notepad and saved with their respective file extensions in utf-8 coding (guiding me from the Continuous Video thread) so i don't know what could be wrong

thanks in advance
Both of these errors mean you did not actually get the file in the right format. I suggest using notepad or equivalent and saving as ANSI or ASCII.

Note they should be ASCII text, NOT UTF-8. UTF-8 will probably work in most cases but some programs may put a BOM at the start which will probably confuse CHDK.
« Last Edit: 28 / March / 2014, 17:25:19 by reyalp »
Don't forget what the H stands for.

***STARTED***

and

***STARTED***
near 'char(239)'

thanks in advance