Newbie with a G9 but cannot load files - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum  

Newbie with a G9 but cannot load files

• 12 Replies
Newbie with a G9 but cannot load files
« on: 08 / May / 2023, 09:25:40 »
Advertisements
Hiya
I used CHIMP to partition, set up and upgrade a 32 Go SD card.
CHDK works (I do have the logo and the extra features such as the OSD) but I cannot explore the card, load scripts or grids.

One solution would be to use another a card and start again from scratch, but what I would like to understand is the reason why CHDK cannot access those files that are indeed present on the card, albeit on the second partition.

Cheers.

Offline reyalp

Re: Newbie with a G9 but cannot load files
« Reply #1 on: 08 / May / 2023, 12:11:14 »
Hiya
CHDK works (I do have the logo and the extra features such as the OSD) but I cannot explore the card, load scripts or grids.
What specifically happens when you try to open the file browser or load a script? Do you see a message about a missing module?

If you are able to turn on the CHDK file space OSD, how much space does it show remaining? If not, you can switch to shooting mode and see how many shots the Canon firmware thinks can be saved.

Are you loading CHDK with the bootable card method, or manually with firm update?

One solution would be to use another a card and start again from scratch, but what I would like to understand is the reason why CHDK cannot access those files that are indeed present on the card, albeit on the second partition.
If multipartition is working properly, all the modules, scripts, etc should be on the large partition. Only diskboot.bin needs to be on the small one.
« Last Edit: 09 / May / 2023, 03:57:04 by reyalp »
Don't forget what the H stands for.

« Reply #2 on: 08 / May / 2023, 16:13:15 »
The script files are located on the large partition.